Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

The Movies Editor 1.0.2 = NOT RUNNING IN WINDOWS 8!


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 03 October 2014 - 02:55 PM

Guys, big BIG problem here. When I was working on mods in The Movies Editor while running Windows 7, I often had occasional bugs, but it wasn't anything that could stop me from working on things. Now that I have a new Windows 8 platform, I am horrified to discover that the program NEVER opens up beyond the title screen after I've selected a destination folder. I am greeted with a horrible "The Movies Editor has encountered an error and is sending a request..." message that prevents me from doing remotely anything.

This is a very severe problem because The Movies Editor is a very useful resource when it comes to re-texturing sets and converting sets into props among other things. If I can't get this program to work properly, then my new projects will be halted even further. I know Rik-Vargard and Ken are credited in MED, so they would be best to inform. I've tried compatibility mode which as usual, is a sh*tty and worthless feature that does absolutely NOTHING to fix such errors.

Words cannot describe how frustrating this is. MED is brilliant and useful, yet I cannot even use it. I always feared this when choosing Windows 8.

Edited by Gst0395, 31 March 2015 - 01:28 AM.

Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#2 Benjamin Tuttle

Benjamin Tuttle

    Fruit Basket!

  • Moderators
  • 1,565 posts

Posted 04 October 2014 - 02:18 AM

I don't know much about Windows 8, but let me ask you one thing

What's the directory of The Movies data folder? Perhaps MED is searching for the PAK files and it is not finding them, leading to the crash. That's my first guess right now.

If the OS is not cooperating with MED; I'm afraid there are other paths to consider really.

Moderator, Blender User, iClone filmmaker, and overall OCD guy at set dressing.


#3 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 04 October 2014 - 11:13 AM

I don't know much about Windows 8, but let me ask you one thing

What's the directory of The Movies data folder? Perhaps MED is searching for the PAK files and it is not finding them, leading to the crash. That's my first guess right now.

If the OS is not cooperating with MED; I'm afraid there are other paths to consider really.

Exactly the same as it was in Windows 7. "C:\Program Files (x86)\Lionhead Studios Ltd\The Movies\Data", with the PAK folder intact. MED states that it is "Analysing FileSystem" but crashes before going any further.

I've contacted one of the modders involved (Rob Ashton) who is thankfully still active on his website and blog, I'm just awaiting a reply. I hope you don't mean by "other paths" that I have to give up this project completely. I've produced a screenplay, posters, trailers, screenshots among other things. I've come WAY too far to give up now.
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#4 Benjamin Tuttle

Benjamin Tuttle

    Fruit Basket!

  • Moderators
  • 1,565 posts

Posted 04 October 2014 - 04:53 PM

Exactly the same as it was in Windows 7. "C:\Program Files (x86)\Lionhead Studios Ltd\The Movies\Data", with the PAK folder intact. MED states that it is "Analysing FileSystem" but crashes before going any further.

I've contacted one of the modders involved (Rob Ashton) who is thankfully still active on his website and blog, I'm just awaiting a reply. I hope you don't mean by "other paths" that I have to give up this project completely. I've produced a screenplay, posters, trailers, screenshots among other things. I've come WAY too far to give up now.


That knocks out my only guess... it's beyond me, maybe Rob knows what to do.

By other paths, I mean using other programs to create this production. If Windows 8 and The Movies don't work together, it may be a bad sign that the end is nigh for this program. Maybe that's just the sandwich sign carrying hobo in me screaming random nonsense. :tt2:

Moderator, Blender User, iClone filmmaker, and overall OCD guy at set dressing.


#5 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 04 October 2014 - 04:59 PM

That knocks out my only guess... it's beyond me, maybe Rob knows what to do.

By other paths, I mean using other programs to create this production. If Windows 8 and The Movies don't work together, it may be a bad sign that the end is nigh for this program. Maybe that's just the sandwich sign carrying hobo in me screaming random nonsense. :tt2:

The Movies works perfectly fine. It's just some useful modding tools that are incompatible with Windows 8. However, I just remembered there is another laptop in my home that runs on Windows 7 but is rather faulty and requires a charging lead to stay on. If all else fails, that may be my only alternative.

I don't think the end is nigh for TM. As dated as it is, people can still create some brilliant stuff with it.
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#6 Benjamin Tuttle

Benjamin Tuttle

    Fruit Basket!

  • Moderators
  • 1,565 posts

Posted 04 October 2014 - 06:22 PM

The Movies works perfectly fine. It's just some useful modding tools that are incompatible with Windows 8. However, I just remembered there is another laptop in my home that runs on Windows 7 but is rather faulty and requires a charging lead to stay on. If all else fails, that may be my only alternative.


That might be the only option right now working with the two computers and importing them in. If the modding program is incompatible, this is what worries me about the future of the program. It is a major lifeline to it... but it could be a bug that can be solved quickly.

Moderator, Blender User, iClone filmmaker, and overall OCD guy at set dressing.


#7 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 04 October 2014 - 07:32 PM

That might be the only option right now working with the two computers and importing them in. If the modding program is incompatible, this is what worries me about the future of the program. It is a major lifeline to it... but it could be a bug that can be solved quickly.

Possibly. I'm just awaiting a reply from Rob at this point. Good thing I haven't started filming it yet.
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#8 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 12 October 2014 - 02:37 PM

Well I've just tried the program on a Windows 7 laptop and the same problem has occurred. I just think it's total bullshit that the developers haven't updated this thing in years when bugs like this are commonplace. How the hell am I supposed to get this movie made if I can't even make the required mods for it? I guess I'll have to use Blender despite my lack of experience.

If any experienced modders (e.g Sexy Maria) can help out, that would be gladly appreciated. :whistling:

Edited by Gst0395, 12 October 2014 - 05:33 PM.

Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#9 IMA/Ouima

IMA/Ouima

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 October 2014 - 02:52 PM

Well I've just tried the program on a Windows 7 laptop and the same problem has occurred. I just think it's total bullshit that the developers haven't updated this thing in years when bugs like this are commonplace. How the hell am I supposed to get this movie made if I can't even make the required mods for it? I guess I'll have to use Blender despite my lack of experience.

If any experienced modders (e.g Sexy Maria) can help out, that would be gladly appreciated. :whistling:


Weird that it won't load in Windows 7. On my computer MED seems to run fine in Win 7 (not even using compatibility mode), although some other mod programs i.e., Reacher's Mesh Manipilator won't load, which becomes a pain in the ass going back and forth between an XP computer and Win 7. I don't know about Win 8, I won't touch that POS with an 8 foot pole... The problem with modding strictly using Blender, for me at lest, has been issues loading textures. If I'm trying to re-texture a single mesh within a group of meshes, Blender re-textures everything in the scene. That's easy to fix with Reacher's but if that won't load, there's obviously issues.:cursing:

#10 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 14 October 2014 - 10:11 PM

Weird that it won't load in Windows 7. On my computer MED seems to run fine in Win 7 (not even using compatibility mode), although some other mod programs i.e., Reacher's Mesh Manipilator won't load, which becomes a pain in the ass going back and forth between an XP computer and Win 7. I don't know about Win 8, I won't touch that POS with an 8 foot pole... The problem with modding strictly using Blender, for me at lest, has been issues loading textures. If I'm trying to re-texture a single mesh within a group of meshes, Blender re-textures everything in the scene. That's easy to fix with Reacher's but if that won't load, there's obviously issues.:cursing:

Yep, Reacher's Mesh Manipulator won't work for me either EVEN when I install some .NET Framework BS like it tells me to. Regarding MED, maybe your Windows 7 platform is a desktop, I've had no luck with MED on laptops. I wish I still had my Windows 7 desktop, but the POS died on me and I made the poor decision of replacing it with a Win 8 laptop rather than just getting it repaired.
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#11 IMA/Ouima

IMA/Ouima

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 27 October 2014 - 03:42 PM

I downloaded and installed windows xp virtual machine (http://windows.micro...de-in-windows-7). This basically runs xp in a shell, which is not the same as window's stupid "compatibility mode." You'll need to install XNA Framework 3.0 and .Net Framework 3.5 (since it acts like a "clean" xp install) to run Mesh Manipulator. When it loads, it gives me a xna graphics error, but will load and run beyond this. I don't know about MED or even the Movies, I still need to figure out how to fully access my video card in xp mode, but I'll get back to you if/when I get it figured out. (I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate btw...).

#12 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 29 October 2014 - 11:08 AM

I downloaded and installed windows xp virtual machine (http://windows.micro...de-in-windows-7). This basically runs xp in a shell, which is not the same as window's stupid "compatibility mode." You'll need to install XNA Framework 3.0 and .Net Framework 3.5 (since it acts like a "clean" xp install) to run Mesh Manipulator. When it loads, it gives me a xna graphics error, but will load and run beyond this. I don't know about MED or even the Movies, I still need to figure out how to fully access my video card in xp mode, but I'll get back to you if/when I get it figured out. (I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate btw...).

Already had problems with this as well. The idiots at Microsoft made Virtual PC incompatible with Windows 8 for whatever reason and replaced it with Hyper-V which uses a horrible unresponsive online download system. I DID get Virtual PC to work for a bit but could not get MED to even run let alone start up. Maybe it's because I hadn't installed The Movies on that virtual machine though.
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#13 IMA/Ouima

IMA/Ouima

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 31 October 2014 - 12:33 AM

It looks like XP virtual machine doesn't do 3-d grapics, so I doubt it will load the Movies or even MED. Dual booting with XP is probably your best option, if you can do it on your laptop. I'm assuming you have 64 bit Win 7/8, which won't run the Movies or any of the mod programs as far as I know.:thumbdown:

#14 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 28 March 2015 - 07:48 PM

I contacted Rob Ashton again via e-mail and Skype. Really hoping he replies because I CANNOT make this movie without The Movies Editor. There just isn't a more useful modding tool.
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#15 Ken White

Ken White

    Foul Owl on the Prowl

  • Administrators
  • 3,238 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 03:33 PM

Did you actually make contact with Dero on Skype, Geoff? I see him on there now and then (actually saw him about 15 minutes ago, but now he's gone), and can try to give him a holler next time I see him and see if he responds.

TMOAsig.png
TMU_forum01.png


#16 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 04:12 PM

Did you actually make contact with Dero on Skype, Geoff? I see him on there now and then (actually saw him about 15 minutes ago, but now he's gone), and can try to give him a holler next time I see him and see if he responds.

I'm guessing he was part of DCModding? Give me his Skype name and I'll have a chat with him, or you can chat with him yourself, whichever away works. Cheers Ken.

Edited by Gst0395, 31 March 2015 - 01:20 AM.

Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users