Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Retexturing meshes in The Movies without MED?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 31 March 2015 - 11:12 PM

The title is self-explainatory. Is it possible at all? I understand that .dds textures are assigned to .msh files. With The Movies Editor I was able to create a copy of a mesh, retexture it and save it as a new set or prop without any overwriting. However, since MED is pretty much obsolete on my new operating system, I'm hoping to find an easy way around without the said software, which is all I really do as far as modding is concerned. Obviously for projects I'll need people to create more complex mods but I can create some myself with the required tools and knowledge.
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#2 Benjamin Tuttle

Benjamin Tuttle

    Fruit Basket!

  • Moderators
  • 1,564 posts

Posted 01 April 2015 - 02:02 AM

Blender.

Import the mesh and figure out the UV mapping, there you can export the UV sets or study the mesh and design a retexture. It should work hopefully.

Moderator, Blender User, iClone filmmaker, and overall OCD guy at set dressing.


#3 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 01 April 2015 - 02:06 AM

Blender.

Import the mesh and figure out the UV mapping, there you can export the UV sets or study the mesh and design a retexture. It should work hopefully.

Blender has been complicated for me to use, but I guess I could figure it out. How long would the process usually take with the software's knowledge?
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#4 Benjamin Tuttle

Benjamin Tuttle

    Fruit Basket!

  • Moderators
  • 1,564 posts

Posted 01 April 2015 - 02:12 AM

It depends on how much faces the mesh is and how complex the mapping is really. What things need to be retextured by the way?

Oh a new mesh... that won't be an easy task without MED. I have a working copy, just the game doesn't work for me. I cannot make new meshes from scratch or go into game, but I can open up MED. Give me a ring if you need some help.

Moderator, Blender User, iClone filmmaker, and overall OCD guy at set dressing.


#5 Geoff-uk

Geoff-uk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 871 posts

Posted 01 April 2015 - 02:18 AM

It depends on how much faces the mesh is and how complex the mapping is really. What things need to be retextured by the way?

Oh a new mesh... that won't be an easy task without MED. I have a working copy, just the game doesn't work for me. I cannot make new meshes from scratch or go into game, but I can open up MED. Give me a ring if you need some help.

Ugh, if you'd be willing to help out Ben, I'd gladly appreciate that. I'll add you on Skype and give you a shout if needed.
Requiem City Lockdown Teaser Trailer: http://www.tmundergr...Teaser-Trailer-
Requiem City Lockdown Production Thread: http://www.tmoaradio...oduction-Thread

#6 sexymaria

sexymaria

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 244 posts

Posted 11 June 2017 - 08:25 PM

Use a Hex Editor. All texture names will be listed, But the new name has to have the same number of letters as the old name.

p_chair.dds change to p_blair.dds. See that? Two letter s were changed but the name has the same length. Because HEX is that way, I guess. It's what most gamers do.


Banner_Newer.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users